“Something” for Lent

Tomorrow is Ash Wednesday; the beginning of Lent.

As I reflect on the coming season I have been thinking about a Lenten discipline to engage in.  Not that you have to do something or give up something, but “something” has been tugging at my heart.  It’s been tugging for a couple weeks now.   I couldn’t quite put my finger on it but I think I finally know what that “something” is.

Starting tomorrow I am going to do something that I haven’t done before…

Pray.

Well…actually I do pray daily but what I am going to do for Lent is engage in the discipline of writing out my prayers in a prayer journal.

That is new for me.

I write prayers for worship and for this blog but I have never done so in such a personal and intimate way.  Never in a way to track and see what God is doing in my life.  I have never gone back to prayers I have written to see what God did with it.  I am not going to write those prayers here, but I may share experiences of this discipline here.

But I am curious, though…

Has anyone out there done this or does this on a regular basis?
Do you even engage in a spiritual discipline?
Do you give anything up?

Whatever you do, may you have a blessed Lenten season as we make our way to the cross and the empty tomb.

Praise be to God!

The pastor -|—

2 responses to ““Something” for Lent

  1. Pastor, I have kept a prayer journals for ten years now. To me Prayer is a Discipline I even have post on my blog titled by that name. A few of my post I pull from my journals, yes I can look back and see God’s hand on people’s Life, People life like Purple. Purple the woman in my post Giving Baby Jesus for Christmas. Purple has been keeping journals and has over 350 and has ask if there is any way I could turn them into a book. My grandmother kept journals she tore a page out of one and stuck it in her Bible. She passed away in 1972. I was given that Bible many years later and never looked in it. In 2001 I was going through some hard times and I got her Bible out and found that page. The words on it was exactly the encouragement I needed that day. That page from her journal was written to me, dated Sept.25 1966. Pastor I hope my words also encourage you our Abba Father knows how to use our journals. God Bless James