The most excellent way

Monday is the day I boot up my Logos Bible study program and print off the lectionary texts for the up coming Sunday.  I did that as usual this morning and read the second lesson text: 1 Corinthains 12:12-31.  I read this and my mind starting running like mad with thoughts and possible sermons directions.  thinkerHere’s a snippet of what my mind did:

~ A messed up church (the Corinthians…or any church today).
~ The gifts that are given vary from person to person.
~ Sometimes we get jealous of gifts we don’t have.
~ Sometimes we get arrogant about the gift we do have.
~ Believe it or not…sometimes we don’t get along.
~ Various gifts are needed and important for the Church.
~ God knows what He is doing.
~ There is a more excellent way (indeed there is but that is for another sermon).

And that is where I got.  So much to preach on but I am liking the cliff hanger idea.  I wonder if that will fly very well.  And “no”…I am not going to say anything more about the cliff hanger idea in case any Salem and/or Belmont people are reading this.  You will have to wait until next week to read about what I did.

[Hey...I just incorporated a cliff hanger.  What do you know :)]

Anyway…that is it.  Nothing too deep and theological today just some random sermon prep thoughts but maybe that gets you thinking.  It has me thinking.

Have a good one :)

The pastor -|—

Comments are closed.