Do you remember?

In those days Caesar Augustus issued a decree that a census should be taken of the entire Roman world. 2 (This was the first census that took place while Quirinius was governor of Syria.) 3 And everyone went to his own town to register.4 So Joseph also went up from the town of Nazareth in Galilee to Judea, to Bethlehem the town of David, because he belonged to the house and line of David. 5 He went there to register with Mary, who was pledged to be married to him and was expecting a child. 6 While they were there, the time came for the baby to be born, 7 and she gave birth to her firstborn, a son. She wrapped him in cloths and placed him in a manger, because there was no room for them in the inn. [Luke 2:1-7]

Do you still remember?

Manger scene

Do you still remember what this season is all about?

Do you still remember why we run ourselves crazy and tired this time of the year?

Do you still remember?

For the past week or so, my wife and I have been preparing for our Christmas open house that we host every year at the parsonage.  I look forward to spending time with people over some Christmas goodies, hot apple cider (and of course some Christmas themed coffee) and some Christmas cheer.  I enjoy receiving people into our home and visiting.  But the preparations can be stressful… especially this year with more on our plate:
~ We are in the adoption process so we have paper work all over the place (not to mention the emotional toll this process takes).
~ My wife is recovering from minor knee surgery and is not as mobile as she would like to be.
~ Then there’s all the baking and cleaning (that my wife tries to do in her “limited” condition).

All of this adds up to stress and frayed nerves…

And many of you can probably relate to this.  I know I am not the only one running around trying to get a multitude of things done.  It’s crazy…and sometimes we forget.

This is why I am diving into the Christmas story EVERY day.  I don’t want to lose sight of the joy of this season.  I don’t want Satan to turn this season into something that it is not.  I don’t want to strive to make myself look good but rather God.  After all…

This is about a baby
This is about a Savior
This is about God’s amazing love.  And…

This is not about me (and it is not about you).  This is about what God has done and will do for you and for me.  We just can’t lose sight of this.  People around us (whether they know it or not) are counting on us not to lose sight of what this season TRULY means.

So I challenge you and encourage you to take some time EVERY day to read the Christmas story.  Soak in the wonderfulness and joy.  Bask in the grace and love of God.  Receive and be filled…and…

…remember.

It’s Christmas time…PRAISE BE TO GOD!

The pastor -|—

2 responses to “Do you remember?

  1. I also have post titled “Do You Remember” If it was not for Christ’s birth this post could not have been. I love coffee some day we shall enjoy prayer together and coffee, Amen. James